Wine   |  Daily Wine Deal Wednesday, 30th of July 11:06 PM

By law, you must be over 18 to enter this site

Sign me up to your newsletter

At Winesale.co.nz, we value your privacy. We will never sell or rent your email address to third parties.

Free delivery
For orders over 24 bottles to Akl, Wlg, Chch, Hamilton, Tauranga & Dunedin!
SIGN UP
to our mailing list and receive the best wine deals in NZ via email!
SHOPPING CART
0 items in cart
     Home     Hot specials     Highest rated     Top sellers     Most repurchased     Latest reviews     Gifts

   Browse by Type
   Red Wine
   White Wine
   Sparkling Wine
   Fortified Wine
   Mixed cases
   Beers & Spirits

   Browse by Region
   New Zealand
   Australia
   International

   Browse by Price
   Under $10
   $10 to $15
   $15 to $25
   Over $25

   Browse by Style
   Light, elegant reds
   Medium-bodied reds
   Big, gutsy reds
   Crispy, dry whites
   Soft, buttery whites
   Aromatic whites
   Fruity whites
   Full, oaky whites
   Rosés
   Dessert wines
   Dry sparkling Wine
   Sweet sparkling


Our price: $9.99


Click here to view product information


Customer reviews for Villa Vistarenni (Italy) Chianti DOCG

Average Customer Review
(37 Customer Reviews)

Return Trips (?) : Repeat purchased 380 times by 206 customers!
31 out of 37 customers rated this wine as good value for money.

Most Helpful First | Newest First | Most Positive First | Most Negative First

7 out of 7 people found these comments helpful
(01/02/11)
By: Linda Sorensen (Christchurch) This reviewer is using their real name. Gold Medal Reviewer - Top 10 ranked wine reviewer! Has submitted over 50 reviews! Speedster - Has completed 6 first reviews!
Reading some of the reviews previously posted, I had pretty low expectations for this wine. However, I found it to be a really nice and affordable example of Sangiovese in the Chianti style. This wine is brick in color, with cherries, olives, and cedar on the nose. The tannins are quite fine and smooth. I think the problem is that we have become used to extreme fruit-forward wines (Aussie Shiraz, even Central Otago Pinot Noir) and this wine is not meant to be the star of the show. It is a food wine with extremely good balance and great tannic structure. If you are a fan of big fruity Aussie Shiraz, then get the Sassoregale Sangiovese. You'll love it. If, however, you are keen on Rhone Syrah, you will definitely enjoy this wine. The only foods you would not really want to pair this with would be Thai, Indian, or Mexican. Everything else should suit it well.
Permalink

6 out of 6 people found these comments helpful
(19/11/10)
By: godmother
This is fantastic value and incredibly tasty with food. We served it with a sirloin and salad and it was perfect.
Permalink

4 out of 4 people found these comments helpful
(20/11/10)
By: Jesse Dyson This reviewer is using their real name.
Absolutely beautiful Italian wine. A beautiful Chianti, don't order just one!
Permalink

4 out of 4 people found these comments helpful
(19/01/11)
By: K8y (Lower Hutt) Gold Medal Reviewer - Top 10 ranked wine reviewer! Has submitted over 50 reviews! Speedster - Has completed 6 first reviews! Sauvignon Blanc Star
Yeah she's a bit rough... You'd do better with the rough Aussies frankly, although there is a certain snob value in serving an Italian Chianti over an Aussie Cab Sav. Anyway, it wasn't to my taste but I hate to waste - so I chilled it, poured it into a punch bowl with some soda, orange juice, and a splash of Cointreau, added some sliced oranges and lemons and some crushed mint leaves. Sangria is your mama. Yup, it was pretty good like that.
Permalink

3 out of 3 people found these comments helpful
(20/11/10)
By: ChrisMP
Pretty standard. If looking for an Italian red, would drop a few more coins and go with the Sassaregale (Italy) Sangiovese 2007 (also from winesale). Conversely run with one of the gorgeous Australian reds available on the site.
Permalink

2 out of 2 people found these comments helpful
(15/12/10)
By: Westie Wino (Waitakere) Gold Medal Reviewer - Top 10 ranked wine reviewer! Has submitted over 50 reviews! Speedster - Has completed 6 first reviews!
A DOCG wine for less than $20 should get my vote but I found it a little disappointing. I will be interested in comparing with the Sassaregale Sangiovese.
Permalink

1 out of 1 people found these comments helpful
(19/11/10)
By: StephenStar Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer!
I was disappointed by this wine - had hoped for something a little smoother but was a bit rough around the edges.
Permalink

1 out of 1 people found these comments helpful
(15/12/10)
By: Gary Clarkson This reviewer is using their real name. Trophy Reviewer - Number 1 ranked wine reviewer! Has submitted over 100 reviews! Speedster - Has completed 6 first reviews! Pinot Noir Addict
A very average Italian red very rough around the edges not worth the money.
Permalink

1 out of 1 people found these comments helpful
(10/02/11)
By: Richard Holdaway This reviewer is using their real name. Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 10 reviews!
I liked it, wasn't expecting much looking at the reviews but its a great red to have with a meaty dinner.
Permalink

1 out of 1 people found these comments helpful
(16/07/11)
By: kayree
A personal favourite, full-bodied quaffing chianti at a great price.
Permalink

1 out of 1 people found these comments helpful
(05/03/12)
By: hamiltron (Hamilton)
A decent taste of chianti at a reasonable price. Good on its own and good with simple food like (surprise) pasta.
Permalink

1 out of 1 people found these comments helpful
(20/05/12)
By: Gazzamaatazza (Lower Hutt) Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 10 reviews!
Tasted like cardboard. Hated it is a little strong as we still drank it but wasn't the best. - A bit yuk
Permalink

1 out of 1 people found these comments helpful
(19/06/12)
By: Peter Hancock This reviewer is using their real name. Has submitted over 10 reviews!
Smooth with intense flavours.
Permalink

1 out of 1 people found these comments helpful
(16/07/12)
By: David Hill This reviewer is using their real name.
I was disappointed with this wine. Can't expect too much at the price, but not as little as this. It seems to lack fruit and life not complementing the spag bol at all. Sorry.
Permalink

1 out of 1 people found these comments helpful
(29/07/12)
By: James McAnally (Dunedin) This reviewer is using their real name. Gold Medal Reviewer - Top 10 ranked wine reviewer! Has submitted over 50 reviews! Speedster - Has completed 6 first reviews! Pinot Gris Lover
My first bottle, I was a bit disappointed. Have had some great Chianti's. However tried again today, with just a basic cracker and cheese. Lovely deep ruby colour one should expect. I personally couldn't pick the berry taste I would have expected, but a lovely subtle vanilla aroma and taste. Nice after taste. Would be better accompanying the standard foods you'd associate with Chianti. So, for the price a good Chianti, worth have one or two in the cellar.
Permalink

1 out of 1 people found these comments helpful
(17/08/12)
By: Susan & TerryStar Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 10 reviews!
Good value for money
Permalink

1 out of 1 people found these comments helpful
(15/09/12)
By: Rob McCaw This reviewer is using their real name. Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer!
I wasn't overly fussed on this one especially as I'd also bought a couple of bottles of the Sangiovese which was much nicer
Permalink

1 out of 1 people found these comments helpful
(20/09/12)
By: David Purvis This reviewer is using their real name.
very nice chianti
Permalink

1 out of 1 people found these comments helpful
(26/09/12)
By: Alastair Ness This reviewer is using their real name. Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 20 reviews! Pinot Noir Addict
at this price you can't really go wrong - great everyday red
Permalink

1 out of 1 people found these comments helpful
(10/11/12)
By: Peter Wilson This reviewer is using their real name.
Great BBQ wine
Permalink

1 out of 1 people found these comments helpful
(27/11/12)
By: Tony McCracken This reviewer is using their real name. Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 10 reviews!
Wanted for substance, matched the price!
Permalink

1 out of 1 people found these comments helpful
(28/11/12)
By: Fred Hardy This reviewer is using their real name.
Great with the barby, not bad in the marinade as well.
Permalink

0 out of 1 people found these comments helpful
(22/12/10)
By: Dominic O'Halloran This reviewer is using their real name. Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 20 reviews!
I was underwhelmed, definitely go with the Sangiovese over this if you're looking for an Italian red.
Permalink

(11/12/12)
By: CHIHIRO OGIHARA This reviewer is using their real name.
Awesome value!
Permalink

(16/01/11)
By: James Jemson This reviewer is using their real name. Has submitted over 10 reviews!
No comments left

(28/03/11)
By: Sue Joyce This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left

(27/04/11)
By: Douglas Morrow This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left

(07/07/11)
By: Fred Hunter This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left

(03/08/11)
By: David Coster This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left

(19/11/11)
By: David Roper This reviewer is using their real name. Has submitted over 10 reviews!
No comments left

(10/04/12)
By: Terry Wilson This reviewer is using their real name. Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 10 reviews! Pinot Noir Addict
No comments left

(15/08/12)
By: Katharine McCoy This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left

(26/08/12)
By: Dave Stearns This reviewer is using their real name. Has submitted over 10 reviews!
No comments left

(01/11/12)
By: Floorguy
No comments left

(17/11/12)
By: Alastair Barraud This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left

(05/12/12)
By: JILL LINDSAY This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left

(06/12/12)
By: Elizabeth Bolstad This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left

 
OUR SERVICES
Parties
Weddings
On Premise
Businesses
Wine Gifts
Wine Tastings
Fundraising
ABOUT US
About Winesale.co.nz
Liquor Licence
Contact Us
Wine Delivery
Newsletter
The Winesale Blog
Winesale on Facebook
Winesale on Twitter
OUR SITE
Wine Guide
FAQs
Terms & Conditions
Security
Privacy Policy
Host responsibility
Fan Mail
Site Map
Wine from NZ and around the world
The best place to buy wine online in New Zealand! Thanks for stopping by our online wine shop. We have been running for more than ten years in New Zealand and have thousands of satisfied customers who subscribe to our emails and buy wine off us every week.

We love wine and we are passionate about every wine on this site. Our wines have been carefully selected by our buying team because they offer both outstanding quality and outrageous value for money. We hope you'll hang around a while, learn about us and try some of our wines. Have fun and drink great wine!
 
 

Wine Shop | Red Wine | White Wine | Pinot Noir | Cabernet Sauvignon | Shiraz | Syrah | Merlot | Sauvignon Blanc | Chardonnay | Pinot Gris
Riesling | Gewurztraminer | Champagne | Sparkling Wine | Australian Wine | New Zealand Wine | Italian Wine | Argentine Wine | Budget Wine




Olark Livehelp