Wine   |  Daily Wine Deal Saturday, 21st of October 04:56 AM

I am over 18. Continue!

I am not over 18


Wine from New Zealand and around the world
The best place to buy wine online in NZ!
Thanks for stopping by our online wine shop. We have been running for more than ten years in New Zealand and have thousands of satisfied customers who subscribe to our emails and buy wine off us every week.

We love wine and we are passionate about every wine on this site. Our wines have been carefully selected by our buying team because they offer both outstanding quality and outrageous value for money. We hope you'll hang around a while, learn about us and try some of our wines. Have fun and drink great wine!
Free Call Us On 0508 WINESALE (0508 946 372) Mailing list       |      Wine blog       |      Help      
Free Call Us On 0508 946 372 Mailing list       |      Wine blog       |      Help      
Mailing list       |      Wine blog       |      Help      
0
Shopping Cart

0 items in cart
Proceed to Checkout
Register Login
Sign Up
to our mailing list and receive the best wine deals in NZ via email!
Sign Up
Free Delivery
For orders over 60 bottles to anywhere in mainland New Zealand!
Click here


Our price: $13.99
Estimated retail price $17.99

Click here to view product information

Customer reviews for Mt Hector (Wairarapa) Chardonnay

Average Customer Review
(19 Customer Reviews)

Return Trips (?) : Repeat purchased 247 times by 114 customers!
17 out of 19 customers rated this wine as good value for money.

Most Helpful First | Newest First | Most Positive First | Most Negative First

1 out of 1 people found these comments helpful
(13/08/15)
By: Colin Porter This reviewer is using their real name.
A lovely mouth filling chardonnay, creamy with a touch of oak.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(22/11/14)
By: Fred Holmes This reviewer is using their real name. Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer!
Lovely Chardonay
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(02/03/15)
By: Captain PinStar Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 20 reviews! Pinot Gris Lover Shiraz Captain
Not a quality Chardy but good drinking for the price. Would buy again
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(29/06/15)
By: Trish Harding This reviewer is using their real name.
Not a bad drop :)
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(09/07/15)
By: Rex Olsen This reviewer is using their real name.
A very tasty chardie
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(31/07/15)
By: Action Hero (Wellington) Gold Medal Reviewer - Top 10 ranked wine reviewer! Has submitted over 20 reviews! Speedster - Has completed 6 first reviews! Chardonnay Champ
I have tasted some of Matahiwi's other labels and enjoyed them immensely. Their Mt Hector label is the Retail label and the quality doesn't decrease, this Chardy has pleasant fruity flavours with very subtle oak after taste. Very well priced and enjoyable as a daily quaffer with some nice cheese or chicken and pasta dishes. If you like Chardonnay then this one will tick a few boxes for you however other labels at $25 plus will of course deliver different qualities.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(18/09/15)
By: Daniel Lem This reviewer is using their real name.
hard to beat this one for the price, Very smooth
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(12/11/15)
By: PeteNZ
I liked this chardonnay and although not particularly remarkable it had all the attributes you normally associate with this variety and it's not over-oaked so most will enjoy.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(26/11/15)
By: Brendan Cody This reviewer is using their real name.
Good value and enjoyable.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(14/04/16)
By: Philip M Ward This reviewer is using their real name.
I ordered at the weekend, they were delivered on Tuesday. Good service, good cheerful & polite courier. But .... I am not a believer in chilling a Chardonnay. But sorry, Mt Hector, your 2014 vintage doesn't pass the test, unchilled. It's harsh, doesn't give the fruity promise I expected. Not that I am looking for that in a Chardonnay, it's not Pinot Gris or Sav Blanc. I do like that the oaking is pleasantly subtle. But what happened to the creamy effect. Disappointing, I am going to have to chill to drink the other 11 bottles, not what I want for the coming winter months. Wednesday, next day, my rating remains unchanged. But 24 hours later, you need to treat this wine like a red and give it time to breathe, minimum 3 hours, the longer the better. 24 hours later it still lacks the fruity promise, the harshness has mellowed considerably, not vanished, and creamy effect is there, just. And at $10 per bottle per box, it is probably a reasonable buy. But overall I am still disappointed, but I do admit I was looking for a silk purse at a sows ear price.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(27/04/16)
By: Douglas Wilson This reviewer is using their real name.
Not as good as Five Oaks but a good drop
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(17/08/16)
By: NicknameStar Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 10 reviews!
Nice flavours
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(02/11/16)
By: Jenny Keenan This reviewer is using their real name.
Good value for the money
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(15/07/15)
By: Sonja Takimoana This reviewer is using their real name. Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 20 reviews! Chardonnay Champ
No comments left

(15/07/15)
By: Cmaryt (Christchurch) Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 10 reviews! Sauvignon Blanc Star
No comments left

(28/07/16)
By: Ellen Bailey This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left

(17/10/16)
By: Jim Stenhouse This reviewer is using their real name. Chardonnay Champ
No comments left

(13/01/17)
By: Karin Marshall This reviewer is using their real name. Has submitted over 10 reviews!
No comments left

(01/09/17)
By: Brian Hart This reviewer is using their real name. Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 20 reviews!
No comments left


Wine from NZ and around the world
The best place to buy wine online in New Zealand!
Thanks for stopping by our online wine shop. We have been running for more than ten years in New Zealand and have thousands of satisfied customers who subscribe to our emails and buy wine off us every week.

We love wine and we are passionate about every wine on this site. Our wines have been carefully selected by our buying team because they offer both outstanding quality and outrageous value for money. We hope you'll hang around a while, learn about us and try some of our wines. Have fun and drink great wine!


© Corporate Direct Wines 2008. All rights reserved.
Liquor Licence Holder: Corporate Direct Wines 2008 Ltd ~ License Number: 048/OFF/0011/17 ~ Expires: 18 May 2020