Wine   |  Daily Wine Deal Tuesday, 23rd of May 02:55 PM

I am over 18. Sign me up!


I don't wish to receive the gift voucher. Take me straight to the website.

Wine from New Zealand and around the world
The best place to buy wine online in NZ!
Thanks for stopping by our online wine shop. We have been running for more than ten years in New Zealand and have thousands of satisfied customers who subscribe to our emails and buy wine off us every week.

We love wine and we are passionate about every wine on this site. Our wines have been carefully selected by our buying team because they offer both outstanding quality and outrageous value for money. We hope you'll hang around a while, learn about us and try some of our wines. Have fun and drink great wine!
Free Call Us On 0508 WINESALE (0508 946 372) Mailing list       |      Wine blog       |      Help      
Free Call Us On 0508 946 372 Mailing list       |      Wine blog       |      Help      
Mailing list       |      Wine blog       |      Help      
0
Shopping Cart

0 items in cart
Proceed to Checkout
Register Login
Sign Up
to our mailing list and receive the best wine deals in NZ via email!
Sign Up
Free Delivery
For orders over 60 bottles to anywhere in mainland New Zealand!
Click here


Our price: $19.99
Estimated retail price $34.99

Click here to view product information

Customer reviews for Barren Rock (Central Otago) Pinot Noir

Average Customer Review
(79 Customer Reviews)

Return Trips (?) : Repeat purchased 1576 times by 624 customers!
77 out of 79 customers rated this wine as good value for money.

Most Helpful First | Newest First | Most Positive First | Most Negative First

7 out of 7 people found these comments helpful
(08/11/13)
By: Alastair Ness This reviewer is using their real name. Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 20 reviews! Pinot Noir Addict
Opened a bottle of this recently with friends. Went very well with red meat (bbq steaks etc) - only regret was that we didn't have more.... Great wine and well worth a try at this price.
Permalink

4 out of 5 people found these comments helpful
(18/05/11)
By: K8y (Lower Hutt) Gold Medal Reviewer - Top 10 ranked wine reviewer! Has submitted over 50 reviews! Speedster - Has completed 6 first reviews! Sauvignon Blanc Star Pinot Gris Lover
An Otago Pinot for under twenty bucks is a good find! This is probably a food wine - have it with a good steak or a bit of venison. We just drank it round the table on a Sunday afternoon. It may have been a bit of a waste of a good wine, but we enjoyed it anyway. The label is definitely evocative of the region which is a nice touch if you're planning on sharing.
Permalink

3 out of 3 people found these comments helpful
(14/01/12)
By: Judy Hines This reviewer is using their real name.
Very smooth, great price for a Central otago Pinot
Permalink

3 out of 3 people found these comments helpful
(02/06/12)
By: Jacky Chen This reviewer is using their real name.
You couldn't get the same quality for more than $30 from super markets.
Permalink

3 out of 3 people found these comments helpful
(11/07/12)
By: Tony Austin This reviewer is using their real name.
Outstanding Pinot at a great price, earthy, gutsy, typical of Central Otago, fantastic match for duck confit, lamb shanks - customers rAVED ABOUT THIS WINE
Permalink

3 out of 3 people found these comments helpful
(22/09/12)
By: Peter McCaw This reviewer is using their real name.
A very pleasant wine, enjoyed by all. We're back for more!
Permalink

3 out of 3 people found these comments helpful
(01/11/13)
By: Jayne Macdonald This reviewer is using their real name.
This is one of our all time favourite Pinot's. Great drinking now and fabulous velue for money. A smooth and full of flavour Pinot.
Permalink

3 out of 4 people found these comments helpful
(04/11/13)
By: Gary Clarkson This reviewer is using their real name. Gold Medal Reviewer - Top 10 ranked wine reviewer! Has submitted over 100 reviews! Speedster - Has completed 6 first reviews! Pinot Noir Addict
This would be one of the best Pinot's for under $20 i have drunk. This went down great with venison steaks,but would be just as nice on its own. Thankyou Central Otago for another great Pinot you must try.
Permalink

3 out of 3 people found these comments helpful
(13/11/13)
By: Kiri Penfold This reviewer is using their real name. Pinot Noir Addict
Absolutely slides down.....great value for price.
Permalink

2 out of 3 people found these comments helpful
(25/08/11)
By: Peter Neal This reviewer is using their real name.
Outstanding ! Best I've drunk this year
Permalink

2 out of 2 people found these comments helpful
(25/11/12)
By: Mark Gillard This reviewer is using their real name.
This is the third time I have purchased a case of this wine. Great to have a couple of glasses with and before dinner. Good value and mellows well after the cap has been removed - if it lasts that long. Reasonably smooth on the pallet with nice after taste for a reasonably priced Pinot. It is good enough that I have placed another order for my red drinking sibling who is visiting over Christmas.
Permalink

2 out of 2 people found these comments helpful
(12/12/12)
By: Beryl Barry This reviewer is using their real name.
so nice I had to order some more. good value
Permalink

2 out of 3 people found these comments helpful
(01/11/13)
By: RobocopGold Medal Reviewer - Top 10 ranked wine reviewer! Has submitted over 50 reviews! Speedster - Has completed 6 first reviews! Pinot Noir Addict
Big fan of Central Otago Pinot and this is well worth trying and the price allows you to buy much more than some other expensive Pinots..... and still have quality quaffing
Permalink

2 out of 2 people found these comments helpful
(06/11/13)
By: James Hamilton This reviewer is using their real name. Pinot Noir Addict
Excellent full flavoured Pinot and with good depth in both berry and plum slipped down well glass after glass loved it
Permalink

2 out of 2 people found these comments helpful
(19/11/13)
By: Clare Jones This reviewer is using their real name. Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 20 reviews! Speedster - Has completed 6 first reviews!
This is great value for money and very easy drinking. Soft cherry on the palate with hints of anise on the finish. We enjoyed a bottle of this with friends over an Italian pork dish and it worked brilliantly with the fennel and tomato flavours. To enjoy this wine at its best give it plenty of time to breath and don't serve it too cold.
Permalink

2 out of 2 people found these comments helpful
(23/11/13)
By: Harry Jewiss This reviewer is using their real name. Gold Medal Reviewer - Top 10 ranked wine reviewer! Has submitted over 50 reviews! Speedster - Has completed 6 first reviews! Pinot Noir Addict Sauvignon Blanc Star Shiraz Captain
It may have taken Central Otago some years to get into the wine business but these wonderful Pinot style wines that are coming out of there are wonderful. Like mother milk to a babe.
Permalink

1 out of 1 people found these comments helpful
(10/04/12)
By: Terry Wilson This reviewer is using their real name. Has submitted over 10 reviews! Pinot Noir Addict
Excellent value for money - can't wait to get some more.
Permalink

1 out of 1 people found these comments helpful
(03/07/13)
By: Lee Gilbert This reviewer is using their real name.
Wouldn't be without it!
Permalink

1 out of 1 people found these comments helpful
(09/10/13)
By: AlbusHas submitted over 10 reviews!
Luscious. I'm on my third order of this tasty drop.
Permalink

1 out of 1 people found these comments helpful
(07/11/13)
By: Lazza
Excellent value Otago pinot from tough year. I enjoyed its smooth pinot nose and tastes that worked well with a pasta meal.
Permalink

1 out of 1 people found these comments helpful
(20/11/13)
By: Jill New This reviewer is using their real name.
good value easy to drink
Permalink

1 out of 1 people found these comments helpful
(18/06/15)
By: Seamus Flood This reviewer is using their real name.
This pinot offers the best value on here. The unmistakable nose from this rewards before you even taste a drop. Once let breath and warm up to normal warmth conditions your taste buds will dance with delight as the silky smooth drop slides down releasing new flavours all the way. Definitely a rewarding bottle of wine after a tough week. So yes I would recommend especially when it is on offer.
Permalink

1 out of 1 people found these comments helpful
(04/05/16)
By: Greg Clayton This reviewer is using their real name.
Yummy Yummy Yummy
Permalink

0 out of 1 people found these comments helpful
(22/04/13)
By: Alan Peck This reviewer is using their real name.
Slightly disappointing for an Otago Pinot.
Permalink

(08/04/11)
By: Dave
Enjoyed this after dinner. It was went very well with few squares of dark chocolate.
Permalink

(14/01/12)
By: Nathan Hines This reviewer is using their real name.
very nice for not a big wine drinker
Permalink

(13/02/12)
By: Gazzamaatazza (Lower Hutt) Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 10 reviews!
Very good drinking for the price although I ever so slightly smelt an odd phenolic smell, maybe it was the preservatives. Went well with the Chicken Kiev we had for dinner and would buy this wine again for when my in-laws come over
Permalink

(04/03/12)
By: Trish Morison This reviewer is using their real name.
I'm not a wine buff but I do only drink pinot and I've tried many, particularly those under $20. This would be my favourite.
Permalink

(22/09/12)
By: Douglas Morrow This reviewer is using their real name.
Excellent pinot noir, very smooth, repeat order
Permalink

(27/11/12)
By: Tony McCracken This reviewer is using their real name. Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 10 reviews!
A good match for the price.
Permalink

(16/02/13)
By: Rob McCaw This reviewer is using their real name. Has submitted over 10 reviews!
Just cracked one on this hot Canterbury arfo. Soon as you open the bonnet there is a distinct Pinot nose. And it drinks ok too. It would be one of the better Pinots that I've bought for less than $16
Permalink

(16/05/13)
By: Penny Welsh This reviewer is using their real name.
Super value for money, just about to buy the next lot.
Permalink

(08/07/13)
By: Nick Nicolson This reviewer is using their real name.
Nice and easy
Permalink

(24/07/13)
By: martyb@wainuiStar Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer!
On the light but deLIGHTful side, this a so smooth and delicious Pinot, such a steal at this price. Got a friend who doesn't drink red? Give them a glass of this and they will change their ways! Lovely.
Permalink

(27/07/13)
By: Leon
A great wine from Central Otago.
Permalink

(02/10/13)
By: Bruce Honeybone This reviewer is using their real name.
Very good Central Otago Pinot Noir at an attractive price. Good value for a wine of this quality
Permalink

(09/10/13)
By: Ian MacDonald This reviewer is using their real name.
This is a very smooth Pinot from Central Otago and is well priced. Have just ordered another case!
Permalink

(01/11/13)
By: Martyn Bennett This reviewer is using their real name.
Good central pinot and the man delivers it to your door! what more could you ask!
Permalink

(25/11/13)
By: Elizabeth Ann Verboeket This reviewer is using their real name.
Good value, but light - easy to drink. Still young I think
Permalink

(27/11/13)
By: Kiritapu Murray This reviewer is using their real name.
Bold Pinot needs a good airing and a great food match. Didn't ring my bells but others liked it
Permalink

(30/11/13)
By: Bernadine Rooney This reviewer is using their real name.
Nice easy drink Pinot noir
Permalink

(21/12/13)
By: John Gebler This reviewer is using their real name.
Great wine really enjoying it!!!
Permalink

(09/04/14)
By: Susan Hays This reviewer is using their real name.
First tried at a local Christchurch restaurant so was rapt when I found it on this website. Light, and great with or without a meal.
Permalink

(11/06/14)
By: Colin Wiggins This reviewer is using their real name.
It's the price that really makes this wine. Not quite as bold as the expensive Central Otago Poinot's but a good mid range, and for the price great value.
Permalink

(13/09/14)
By: Cate
One of our favourite wines and great value
Permalink

(25/03/15)
By: Karolina Stasiak This reviewer is using their real name. Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer!
Very drinkable, not too light. Great value for money.
Permalink

(09/05/15)
By: Jan ThreenamesHas submitted over 10 reviews! Pinot Noir Addict
an excellent central Otago wine and a great price. It would be hard to find a nicer one from this region in this price range! Similar tastes to Rabbit Ranch.
Permalink

(10/05/15)
By: Captain PinHas submitted over 20 reviews! Shiraz Captain Pinot Gris Lover
Vice affordable Pinot Noir
Permalink

(17/07/15)
By: Pat HENEHAN This reviewer is using their real name.
Love this wine anytime, and even more so when discounted by 15% as mine was
Permalink

(16/10/15)
By: Lynn Shugg This reviewer is using their real name.
This is a truly delicious Central Otago Pinot at an amazing price
Permalink

(22/01/16)
By: Rick Mooney This reviewer is using their real name.
Savoured it by the drop. L
Permalink

(08/02/16)
By: Rozeena Kingi This reviewer is using their real name. Pinot Noir Addict
Nice smooth
Permalink

(27/04/16)
By: George Evans This reviewer is using their real name.
I am a regular customer for this. Just ordered some more with 20% off.
Permalink

(06/07/16)
By: Barry Ogilvy This reviewer is using their real name.
good value for money
Permalink

(01/08/16)
By: Colin Newel This reviewer is using their real name. Pinot Noir Addict
I love this wine - very close to a good red Burgundy in my opinion.
Permalink

(17/11/16)
By: Andrew Millener This reviewer is using their real name.
Great priced Central Otago Pinot. A little light but good drinking over dinner or with friends. Nearly finished the box:)
Permalink

(22/11/10)
By: Faye Arthur This reviewer is using their real name. Pinot Noir Addict
No comments left

(28/11/10)
By: David Roper This reviewer is using their real name. Has submitted over 10 reviews!
No comments left

(14/12/10)
By: Martin Welsford This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left

(26/05/12)
By: Terry Reilly This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left

(15/06/12)
By: Rob Hewitt This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left

(27/06/12)
By: Helen Riordan This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left

(04/07/12)
By: Pam Newlove This reviewer is using their real name. Has submitted over 10 reviews!
No comments left

(30/07/12)
By: Peter Hancock This reviewer is using their real name. Has submitted over 10 reviews!
No comments left

(10/02/13)
By: straris
No comments left

(19/03/13)
By: Ross Tucker This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left

(01/11/13)
By: Peter Cook This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left

(01/11/13)
By: Richard Alexander This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left

(04/12/13)
By: Brian Reed This reviewer is using their real name. Has submitted over 20 reviews!
No comments left

(29/01/14)
By: Melissa Haberfield This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left

(09/03/14)
By: David Milligan This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left

(26/03/14)
By: Leigh Foster This reviewer is using their real name. Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 20 reviews!
No comments left

(10/06/14)
By: Jared Thomas This reviewer is using their real name. Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 10 reviews!
No comments left

(02/07/14)
By: Tim Balmer This reviewer is using their real name. Has submitted over 10 reviews!
No comments left

(05/07/14)
By: Peter Williams This reviewer is using their real name. Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 20 reviews!
No comments left

(10/01/15)
By: Heather Begg This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left

(28/10/15)
By: Della Hopkins This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left

(18/06/16)
By: Robyn Mckay This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left

(17/08/16)
By: Tom Todd This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left


Wine from NZ and around the world
The best place to buy wine online in New Zealand!
Thanks for stopping by our online wine shop. We have been running for more than ten years in New Zealand and have thousands of satisfied customers who subscribe to our emails and buy wine off us every week.

We love wine and we are passionate about every wine on this site. Our wines have been carefully selected by our buying team because they offer both outstanding quality and outrageous value for money. We hope you'll hang around a while, learn about us and try some of our wines. Have fun and drink great wine!


© Corporate Direct Wines 2008. All rights reserved.
Liquor Licence Holder: Corporate Direct Wines 2008 Ltd ~ License Number: 048/OFF/0008/16 ~ Expires: 18 May 2017