Wine   |  Daily Wine Deal Monday, 20th of November 01:21 PM

I am over 18. Continue!

I am not over 18


Wine from New Zealand and around the world
The best place to buy wine online in NZ!
Thanks for stopping by our online wine shop. We have been running for more than ten years in New Zealand and have thousands of satisfied customers who subscribe to our emails and buy wine off us every week.

We love wine and we are passionate about every wine on this site. Our wines have been carefully selected by our buying team because they offer both outstanding quality and outrageous value for money. We hope you'll hang around a while, learn about us and try some of our wines. Have fun and drink great wine!
Free Call Us On 0508 WINESALE (0508 946 372) Mailing list       |      Wine blog       |      Help      
Free Call Us On 0508 946 372 Mailing list       |      Wine blog       |      Help      
Mailing list       |      Wine blog       |      Help      
0
Shopping Cart

0 items in cart
Proceed to Checkout
Register Login
Sign Up
to our mailing list and receive the best wine deals in NZ via email!
Sign Up
Free Delivery
For orders over 60 bottles to anywhere in mainland New Zealand!
Click here


Our price: $22.99
Elsewhere $24.99

Click here to view product information

Customer reviews for Whitehaven (Marlborough) Chardonnay

Average Customer Review
(14 Customer Reviews)

Return Trips (?) : Repeat purchased 119 times by 50 customers!
14 out of 14 customers rated this wine as good value for money.

Most Helpful First | Newest First | Most Positive First | Most Negative First

3 out of 3 people found these comments helpful
(22/07/11)
By: K8y (Lower Hutt) Gold Medal Reviewer - Top 10 ranked wine reviewer! Has submitted over 50 reviews! Speedster - Has completed 6 first reviews! Pinot Gris Lover Sauvignon Blanc Star
In the colder months, Chardonnay is my poison of choice. This one needs a slab of ripe brie and a roaring fire...an Adonis feeding me grapes ...Ahem... Anyway, I had the good fortune to be able to blind taste a whole lot of Chardonnays at the same time and this was the one I went back to and demanded (yes stamped my feet and DEMANDED) to know what it was. Then I stole the rest of the bottle and sat in the corner with it, growling at anyone who came too close. ...Ahem... Anyway, It's got a fair wack of oak but nothing like back in the 90's when they oaked them to death. It's more a buttery full-flavoured thing than a oh my god I think I ate the cork thing. Totally a food wine, absolutely a cheese wine. Worth the extra dosh if you have something special in mind. Only share it with the worthy.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

1 out of 2 people found these comments helpful
(11/12/13)
By: Terry Pullen This reviewer is using their real name. Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 20 reviews!
I usually prefer Gisborne/HB to Marlborough, but this is a good one.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

1 out of 1 people found these comments helpful
(17/12/13)
By: Action Hero (Wellington) Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 20 reviews! Speedster - Has completed 6 first reviews! Chardonnay Champ
A nice full body Blue cheese on crackers, sun shining out on the deck before dinner, good conversation and a couple of bottles of this Chardy will kick the evening off nicely. A very good example of a Marlborough Chardonnay with sufficient oak (not the rich buttery extent, but you can't win them all,) compliments the other elements of this above average Chardonnay. Don't bring it out if your friends are avid Chardy fans because they'll want more and you'll have less to share with yourself.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(08/12/13)
By: RobocopGold Medal Reviewer - Top 10 ranked wine reviewer! Has submitted over 50 reviews! Speedster - Has completed 6 first reviews! Pinot Noir Addict
Value for money with this Chardonnay. Good example of chardonnay from this area.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(02/01/14)
By: Clare Jones This reviewer is using their real name. Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 20 reviews! Speedster - Has completed 6 first reviews!
I really liked the nose on this Chard, a hint of toasty oak but mainly peaches and apricots. Subtle but very pleasant. The palate is elegant with a delightful creamy finish with hints of peach. Mouth watering acidity makes this an excellent match for a creamy brie.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(12/01/14)
By: James McAnally (Dunedin) This reviewer is using their real name. Trophy Reviewer - Number 1 ranked wine reviewer! Has submitted over 100 reviews! Speedster - Has completed 6 first reviews! Riesling Fanatic Pinot Gris Lover Merlot Maniac
A subtle oak, and the definite Chardonnay flavours that brought back memories of bygone years where we drank quite a bit of Chardonnay. Makes me wonder why I went off them. Maybe time to go back. Would recommend but maybe a little pricey?
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(12/02/14)
By: Gary Clarkson This reviewer is using their real name. Gold Medal Reviewer - Top 10 ranked wine reviewer! Has submitted over 100 reviews! Speedster - Has completed 6 first reviews! Pinot Noir Addict
A great valued Chardonnay for what it brought nice and full bodied with an oak and peach flavour.We had this with cheese and crackers with friends on our deck and wanted more.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(15/08/14)
By: Harry Jewiss This reviewer is using their real name. Gold Medal Reviewer - Top 10 ranked wine reviewer! Has submitted over 50 reviews! Speedster - Has completed 6 first reviews! Sauvignon Blanc Star Shiraz Captain Pinot Noir Addict
I am not usually a Chardonnay drinker but found this one very likeable. It had a strong flavour and nose and the after taste lingered well after the initial sip. It went well with my blue cod meal that the wife fixed for me. Try it with fish. Cheers Harry Jewiss
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(17/09/14)
By: DIONysusGold Medal Reviewer - Top 10 ranked wine reviewer! Has submitted over 50 reviews! Speedster - Has completed 6 first reviews! Cabernet Quaffer Chardonnay Champ Posh Wine Expert
Really nice example of Chardonnay which isn't too sweet or oaked. Lighter style which has more citrus to it and doesn't over do it on the "buttery chardonnay" which have been coming out. The straw smells and citrus fruits also come through in the taste. Great with any kind of cheese or fruit platter. 88/100 IMHO
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(10/01/15)
By: Douglas Morrow This reviewer is using their real name. Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer!
Have ordered this wine multiple times a very good easy to drink wine
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(06/03/16)
By: Dennis Parks This reviewer is using their real name.
a good honest chardonnay. Great buying at this price
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(08/09/16)
By: Ashley Wright This reviewer is using their real name.
Delicious!
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(08/10/11)
By: Lyn Clarke This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left

(05/07/14)
By: Peter Williams This reviewer is using their real name. Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 20 reviews!
No comments left


Wine from NZ and around the world
The best place to buy wine online in New Zealand!
Thanks for stopping by our online wine shop. We have been running for more than ten years in New Zealand and have thousands of satisfied customers who subscribe to our emails and buy wine off us every week.

We love wine and we are passionate about every wine on this site. Our wines have been carefully selected by our buying team because they offer both outstanding quality and outrageous value for money. We hope you'll hang around a while, learn about us and try some of our wines. Have fun and drink great wine!


© Corporate Direct Wines 2008. All rights reserved.
Liquor Licence Holder: Corporate Direct Wines 2008 Ltd ~ License Number: 048/OFF/0011/17 ~ Expires: 18 May 2020