Wine   |  Daily Wine Deal Saturday, 25th of November 03:31 AM

I am over 18. Continue!

I am not over 18


Wine from New Zealand and around the world
The best place to buy wine online in NZ!
Thanks for stopping by our online wine shop. We have been running for more than ten years in New Zealand and have thousands of satisfied customers who subscribe to our emails and buy wine off us every week.

We love wine and we are passionate about every wine on this site. Our wines have been carefully selected by our buying team because they offer both outstanding quality and outrageous value for money. We hope you'll hang around a while, learn about us and try some of our wines. Have fun and drink great wine!
Free Call Us On 0508 WINESALE (0508 946 372) Mailing list       |      Wine blog       |      Help      
Free Call Us On 0508 946 372 Mailing list       |      Wine blog       |      Help      
Mailing list       |      Wine blog       |      Help      
0
Shopping Cart

0 items in cart
Proceed to Checkout
Register Login
Sign Up
to our mailing list and receive the best wine deals in NZ via email!
Sign Up
Free Delivery
For orders over 60 bottles to anywhere in mainland New Zealand!
Click here


Our price: $16.99
Estimated retail price $22.99

Click here to view product information

Customer reviews for Five Oaks (Nelson) Pinot Noir

Average Customer Review
(82 Customer Reviews)

Return Trips (?) : Repeat purchased 1480 times by 568 customers!
82 out of 82 customers rated this wine as good value for money.

Most Helpful First | Newest First | Most Positive First | Most Negative First

11 out of 11 people found these comments helpful
(20/11/10)
By: ChrisGold Medal Reviewer - Top 10 ranked wine reviewer! Has submitted over 20 reviews! Speedster - Has completed 6 first reviews!
We felt this was an excellent value Pinot, much better than expected. We matched it with roast chicken which was brilliant. In terms of tasting notes, this was different from a lot of the other pinots we've tried in that it was a lot fruiter (personally felt there was a bit of raisin in there along with the cherries). Overall good general purpose wine that could be matched with chicken or red meats. In fairness we're not big Pinot fans, but this one impressed us, so would definitely recommend to others.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

3 out of 3 people found these comments helpful
(19/11/10)
By: Karla Love This reviewer is using their real name.
Lovely easy drinking pinot. Really good value for money.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

3 out of 3 people found these comments helpful
(21/12/10)
By: Gary Clarkson This reviewer is using their real name. Gold Medal Reviewer - Top 10 ranked wine reviewer! Has submitted over 100 reviews! Speedster - Has completed 6 first reviews! Pinot Noir Addict
As a lover of good Pinot this is excellent value for your buck. Very smooth and quite fruity would be nice with chicken or red meat,so would definitely recommend others try this great cheap wine.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

3 out of 3 people found these comments helpful
(04/01/11)
By: Dominic O'Halloran This reviewer is using their real name. Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 20 reviews!
Had this wine new years eve, a great way to see in the new year. It was light with tasty berries and herbish tones.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

3 out of 3 people found these comments helpful
(10/11/13)
By: James McAnally (Dunedin) This reviewer is using their real name. Trophy Reviewer - Number 1 ranked wine reviewer! Has submitted over 100 reviews! Speedster - Has completed 6 first reviews! Riesling Fanatic Pinot Gris Lover Merlot Maniac
A nice Pinot Noir, maybe a little on the light side - though this is not necessarily a bad thing. I found it easy drinking, yet intriguing. I'll return to this to experience and experiment more.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

2 out of 2 people found these comments helpful
(18/05/11)
By: Keith May This reviewer is using their real name. Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 10 reviews! Pinot Noir Addict
I love this vineyard. Consistantly good wines. This pinot is a beaut, nice fruit and tastes more expensive than it is.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

2 out of 2 people found these comments helpful
(13/10/12)
By: Rob McCaw This reviewer is using their real name. Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 10 reviews!
I really liked the 2009 vintage, was very disappointed in the 2010, but decided to take a punt again! While not up to the 2009 it certainly has some depth to it however don't drink it as soon as you open the bottle or you will get a totally different impression.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

1 out of 1 people found these comments helpful
(10/05/11)
By: June Davies This reviewer is using their real name.
Always enjoyable and a pleasure to drink!
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

1 out of 1 people found these comments helpful
(10/11/11)
By: Heather Begg This reviewer is using their real name.
Good value for money. great taste
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

1 out of 1 people found these comments helpful
(12/04/12)
By: Priya
Lovely wine. Excellent flavours and wonderful to drink!
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

1 out of 1 people found these comments helpful
(10/07/13)
By: Philip Hornblow This reviewer is using their real name.
We love the smooth true pinot flavours. Great with food and so affordable
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

1 out of 1 people found these comments helpful
(02/11/13)
By: Harry Jewiss This reviewer is using their real name. Gold Medal Reviewer - Top 10 ranked wine reviewer! Has submitted over 50 reviews! Speedster - Has completed 6 first reviews! Sauvignon Blanc Star Shiraz Captain Pinot Noir Addict
This wine grabs you by the nose and says drink me. It is fruity in flavour and delivers in taste what it promises through the nose. It leaves a fresh fruit taste in the mouth so is palatable to the back of the tongue.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

1 out of 1 people found these comments helpful
(05/11/13)
By: T J
Basically a really good all round pinot, for sure there are muchbetter pinots to be found but definately for the price quality and taste this is hard to pass by
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

0 out of 1 people found these comments helpful
(16/10/14)
By: rustynutStar Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 10 reviews!
We purchase wine for everyday quaffing and this was great value for money, prefer a 'heavier' red such as a cab/merlot blend but enjoyed sharing this with friends.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(22/11/10)
By: Faye Arthur This reviewer is using their real name. Pinot Noir Addict
Great for the money and a very good everyday wine
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(14/05/11)
By: Alex Smith This reviewer is using their real name.
A bit sharp, improved with decanting.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(10/06/11)
By: Gil Barbezat This reviewer is using their real name.
Excellent wine and great value
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(12/11/11)
By: Paul Carew This reviewer is using their real name. Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 20 reviews! Pinot Gris Lover
OK but not exciting
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(25/01/12)
By: Eric Swinbourne This reviewer is using their real name.
A nice wine when chilled down
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(13/02/12)
By: Gazzamaatazza (Lower Hutt) Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 10 reviews!
Really good value, nice pinot flavour. Was enjoyed with a sirloin and salad and went down refreshingly well. Very happy to order this again
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(16/05/12)
By: Sophie Leloir This reviewer is using their real name.
I really enjoyed this light and fruity Pinot. A great everyday drinker at a great price.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(19/06/12)
By: Peter Hancock This reviewer is using their real name. Has submitted over 10 reviews!
Very good pinot character with medium body. Good flavours
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(23/07/12)
By: David Hill This reviewer is using their real name.
Another wine worth 4 1/2 stars. Quite light and a mite fruity style of pinot noir, but I have not come across one I have liked as much in this price range. Really good value for money.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(25/08/12)
By: David Kennedy This reviewer is using their real name.
Have bought two case lots of this Pinot, excellent value for your money.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(26/09/12)
By: Alastair Ness This reviewer is using their real name. Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 20 reviews! Pinot Noir Addict
drinkable, but nothing special
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(29/10/12)
By: Chris Jennings This reviewer is using their real name. Has submitted over 10 reviews!
Wow, good Pinot Noir for under $15! Honest wine true to the variety without the boiled sweet taste of some affordable Pinots. I'd call it 'drink now' wine. It's more fruity and charming than complex and long. This Pinot goes with anything, even itself.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(10/11/12)
By: straris
Not pretentious, pleasant to drink. Good value for money
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(27/11/12)
By: Tony McCracken This reviewer is using their real name. Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 10 reviews!
Yes, matches its price. Quaffs well.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(12/02/13)
By: A Snell This reviewer is using their real name.
Yea recommended good price, nice drinking and all round good
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(09/03/13)
By: Peter O'Brien This reviewer is using their real name.
Light coloured and flavoured Pinot Noir, not like the Central Otago Ones but good value for money.Also kept drinking really well after being opened for three days.Would recommend.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(30/05/13)
By: Fran Allom This reviewer is using their real name. Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 10 reviews!
I liked it with pasta or white meat. All round good wine
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(14/10/13)
By: Bruce Finan This reviewer is using their real name.
Brilliant!!!
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(29/10/13)
By: Mark Whitefield This reviewer is using their real name.
A wonderful wine - right to the last drop - very easy drinking - will definitely be getting more of this wine
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(01/11/13)
By: Jenny69
Nice wine - I really enjoyed this.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(01/11/13)
By: Felicity Jane Turner This reviewer is using their real name. Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 10 reviews!
We really enjoyed this wine - we wanted a pinot noir we could drink easily with anything we ate and this one was a winner
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(02/11/13)
By: Tina Maurice This reviewer is using their real name. Has submitted over 10 reviews! Sauvignon Blanc Star
Very nice pinot. Enjoyed it tremendously. Would buy again.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(06/11/13)
By: Penny Gilchrist This reviewer is using their real name. Has submitted over 10 reviews! Sauvignon Blanc Star
Yummy Pinot - great value too
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(25/05/14)
By: Graham O'Riordan This reviewer is using their real name.
excellent and good value for money
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(30/07/14)
By: ALISON JOHNSTON This reviewer is using their real name.
Really enjoyed this wine, a lovely flavour
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(13/10/14)
By: Action Hero (Wellington) Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 20 reviews! Speedster - Has completed 6 first reviews! Chardonnay Champ
This is the 2011 vintage which is drinking pretty well now, I have sampled the 2009, it was superb and this one doesn't let the label down. A nice smooth fruity after taste on the palate, easy drinking, it benefits from letting the bottle breath for a few minutes after opening to get maximum flavours and enjoyment. Would recommend and would buy again, especially at this really great price, has to be the best value for money, quality Pinot on the site at the moment. Thanks Tracey and the Team at Winesale
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(25/03/15)
By: Karolina Stasiak This reviewer is using their real name.
OK, at this price one should not complain but a little light on the nose. Good for a Monday though!
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(09/05/15)
By: Jan ThreenamesHas submitted over 10 reviews! Pinot Noir Addict
another great little local number which will not disappoint. For this price I highly recommend trying
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(11/06/15)
By: Greg Crawford This reviewer is using their real name.
Nice taste - nice price. I will be back for more!
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(18/06/15)
By: Marie Courtis This reviewer is using their real name.
Pinot Noir is my favourite. Loved this very much. For the price it was awesome.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(18/06/15)
By: DavidKHas submitted over 10 reviews!
I love this wine and I've bought several cases over the past year. Bright, fresh, fruity flavours, nicely balanced acidity and soooo easy to drink.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(16/12/15)
By: George And Jameson This reviewer is using their real name. Chardonnay Champ Sauvignon Blanc Star
Iight pleasant pinot good value.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(18/08/16)
By: Graeham Beanland This reviewer is using their real name.
Nice with Pork & value for money
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(13/11/16)
By: Verena Vetsch This reviewer is using their real name.
Thought is was good value for money and enjoyable
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(28/04/17)
By: Dianna Hambleton This reviewer is using their real name.
Great value for money buy now
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(10/07/17)
By: Heather Begg This reviewer is using their real name.
Superb value for money.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(10/12/10)
By: Owen Norrish This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left

(15/12/10)
By: Patricia Robinson This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left

(21/12/10)
By: Leigh Foster This reviewer is using their real name. Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 20 reviews!
No comments left

(07/05/11)
By: RobocopGold Medal Reviewer - Top 10 ranked wine reviewer! Has submitted over 50 reviews! Speedster - Has completed 6 first reviews! Pinot Noir Addict
No comments left

(26/05/11)
By: Jill Fuller This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left

(22/10/11)
By: Stephen Monaghan This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left

(29/10/11)
By: Pam Newlove This reviewer is using their real name. Has submitted over 10 reviews!
No comments left

(07/11/11)
By: Sue Graham This reviewer is using their real name. Has submitted over 10 reviews!
No comments left

(03/01/12)
By: Jane Wayte This reviewer is using their real name. Has submitted over 10 reviews!
No comments left

(10/03/12)
By: Alastair Gibbons This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left

(30/04/12)
By: Lynne Howard This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left

(07/05/12)
By: Allison Snowling This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left

(13/09/12)
By: Floorguy
No comments left

(10/05/13)
By: Trish Wright This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left

(23/05/13)
By: Paula Adams-Stace This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left

(02/06/13)
By: Heather Sharpe This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left

(07/07/13)
By: Bill Van Peer This reviewer is using their real name. Pinot Gris Lover
No comments left

(10/08/13)
By: Julie Hunter This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left

(16/10/13)
By: Melissa Haberfield This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left

(26/10/13)
By: Kiri Penfold This reviewer is using their real name. Pinot Noir Addict
No comments left

(01/11/13)
By: Peter Cook This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left

(20/11/13)
By: Kathy Mansell This reviewer is using their real name. Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 10 reviews! Sauvignon Blanc Star
No comments left

(04/12/13)
By: Brian Reed This reviewer is using their real name. Has submitted over 20 reviews!
No comments left

(13/01/14)
By: Susan & TerryStar Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 10 reviews!
No comments left

(17/02/14)
By: Sonja Takimoana This reviewer is using their real name. Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 20 reviews! Chardonnay Champ
No comments left

(05/06/14)
By: Craig Burleigh This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left

(02/07/14)
By: Tim Balmer This reviewer is using their real name. Has submitted over 10 reviews!
No comments left

(02/07/15)
By: Frank Coupe This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left

(18/10/15)
By: Katherine Sieling This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left

(25/05/16)
By: Rashmin Soni This reviewer is using their real name. Has submitted over 10 reviews!
No comments left

(12/11/16)
By: Angela Perkins This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left

(04/06/17)
By: Christine Yeung This reviewer is using their real name. Has submitted over 10 reviews!
No comments left


Wine from NZ and around the world
The best place to buy wine online in New Zealand!
Thanks for stopping by our online wine shop. We have been running for more than ten years in New Zealand and have thousands of satisfied customers who subscribe to our emails and buy wine off us every week.

We love wine and we are passionate about every wine on this site. Our wines have been carefully selected by our buying team because they offer both outstanding quality and outrageous value for money. We hope you'll hang around a while, learn about us and try some of our wines. Have fun and drink great wine!


© Corporate Direct Wines 2008. All rights reserved.
Liquor Licence Holder: Corporate Direct Wines 2008 Ltd ~ License Number: 048/OFF/0011/17 ~ Expires: 18 May 2020