Wine   |  Daily Wine Deal Thursday, 23rd of November 05:12 AM

I am over 18. Continue!

I am not over 18


Wine from New Zealand and around the world
The best place to buy wine online in NZ!
Thanks for stopping by our online wine shop. We have been running for more than ten years in New Zealand and have thousands of satisfied customers who subscribe to our emails and buy wine off us every week.

We love wine and we are passionate about every wine on this site. Our wines have been carefully selected by our buying team because they offer both outstanding quality and outrageous value for money. We hope you'll hang around a while, learn about us and try some of our wines. Have fun and drink great wine!
Free Call Us On 0508 WINESALE (0508 946 372) Mailing list       |      Wine blog       |      Help      
Free Call Us On 0508 946 372 Mailing list       |      Wine blog       |      Help      
Mailing list       |      Wine blog       |      Help      
0
Shopping Cart

0 items in cart
Proceed to Checkout
Register Login
Sign Up
to our mailing list and receive the best wine deals in NZ via email!
Sign Up
Free Delivery
For orders over 60 bottles to anywhere in mainland New Zealand!
Click here


Our price: $14.99
Estimated retail price $19.99

Click here to view product information

Customer reviews for Five Oaks (Nelson) Chardonnay

Average Customer Review
(39 Customer Reviews)

Return Trips (?) : Repeat purchased 945 times by 293 customers!
38 out of 39 customers rated this wine as good value for money.

Most Helpful First | Newest First | Most Positive First | Most Negative First

4 out of 4 people found these comments helpful
(31/12/10)
By: Richard Holdaway This reviewer is using their real name. Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 10 reviews!
Buttery flavours, sharp acid finish, I'm no Chardonnay expert but this seemed to tick the boxes. No complaints at this price.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

4 out of 4 people found these comments helpful
(29/03/11)
By: Linda Sorensen (Christchurch) This reviewer is using their real name. Gold Medal Reviewer - Top 10 ranked wine reviewer! Has submitted over 50 reviews! Speedster - Has completed 6 first reviews!
Definitely good value for money with this one! We felt it was similar in quality to the $20 West Brook (although the WB is a bit more complex). This one has moderate oakiness that is just verging on buttery tones - let this one sit for a couple years and these should really develop. Good drinking now as well. Medium gold in color, oak and citrus on the nose, oak/vanilla/butter tones on the palate. Definitely full-bodied. Crisp refreshing finish. We had with roasted chicken and it was lovely. I've got another bottle we'll let sit for a bit to see where those buttery notes go.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

3 out of 3 people found these comments helpful
(24/02/11)
By: Mike Walker This reviewer is using their real name. Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 10 reviews!
Exceptional buying, cheap and cheerful. Had wien chicken fettunccine. Perfect match.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

3 out of 3 people found these comments helpful
(08/07/11)
By: Chris Wood This reviewer is using their real name. Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 10 reviews! Shiraz Captain Chardonnay Champ
If you like big buttery whites, then you should love this. Very good value for money, a repeat order for us
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

3 out of 3 people found these comments helpful
(25/02/13)
By: Charles T
This review is for the 2012 vintage which I bought & drank in March 2013 - many of the other reviews seem to be for previous vintages. The is a simple Chardonnay, crisp and clean with no obvious faults. I picked up little of the buttery flavours mentioned by others for previous vintages and despite the 5 Oaks name, I would guess this has seen little or no oak. It is refreshing to drink on its own or with chicken/fish etc and should appeal to people who usually drink savvy. I would not buy it again since I prefer an oaked Chardonnay but this is good value and much better than many of the $10 supermarket wines.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

2 out of 4 people found these comments helpful
(21/01/11)
By: John Palmer This reviewer is using their real name.
The bottle says 2007. I had 2008 which was re-ordered.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

2 out of 2 people found these comments helpful
(21/01/11)
By: Ashlee Scholefield (Waitakere) This reviewer is using their real name. Has submitted over 10 reviews!
Almost four stars. Nice wine. I'm used to oakier Chardonnay, but I imagine that this would have quite a broad appeal. Would buy again.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

2 out of 2 people found these comments helpful
(05/11/11)
By: ChrisGold Medal Reviewer - Top 10 ranked wine reviewer! Has submitted over 20 reviews! Speedster - Has completed 6 first reviews!
I'm a big fan of the Five Oaks range, especially the pinot noir. Nice golden colour. Fairly buttery, not too sweet with a fairly strong finish for a Chardonnay. Overally not my favourite of all time (Westbrook...) but good buying at winesale's price.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

2 out of 2 people found these comments helpful
(14/06/14)
By: Jeanette Forsman This reviewer is using their real name.
Loved this wine good junta chardonnay
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

1 out of 1 people found these comments helpful
(26/02/12)
By: Adrian Keane This reviewer is using their real name.
Wife liked it. Happy wife = happy me.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

1 out of 1 people found these comments helpful
(29/10/12)
By: Chris Jennings This reviewer is using their real name. Has submitted over 10 reviews!
A very nice, though not exceptional, chardonnay. Nice fruit, good balance and integration. Very drinkable.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

1 out of 1 people found these comments helpful
(25/07/13)
By: Karin Nesdale This reviewer is using their real name.
Delicious ... quite a surprise really.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

1 out of 1 people found these comments helpful
(03/07/15)
By: Sheila Lyndon This reviewer is using their real name. Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 20 reviews! Shiraz Captain
I'm a chardonnay lover so this was a pleasant surprise so nice that I normally only have a glass at a time but had two for a change.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

1 out of 1 people found these comments helpful
(07/01/16)
By: Fiona Paine This reviewer is using their real name.
Excellent local Chardonnay at a terrific price!
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

1 out of 1 people found these comments helpful
(27/04/16)
By: Douglas Wilson This reviewer is using their real name.
coming back for more
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

0 out of 2 people found these comments helpful
(04/04/11)
By: snuffy
Not as buttery as I'd hoped but still passable.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(30/10/12)
By: Vivienne Giles This reviewer is using their real name.
Love this wine has a hint of butter and oak which I like and is a great price!
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(31/10/12)
By: Erin MacFarlane This reviewer is using their real name.
The wine is as lovely as the owners of the vineyard.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(28/02/14)
By: Dormouse
A dry , lemony chardonnay, less oaky than many.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(03/07/14)
By: Natalie Lloyd This reviewer is using their real name.
We were very disappointed in this Chardonnay, having read "this will not disappoint" in the blurb. It was lightweight, flavourless, short and unimpressive in every way. Sadly won't be buying this one again. Not for someone who loves a big, robust chardonnay, which we do.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(04/04/16)
By: James McAnally (Dunedin) This reviewer is using their real name. Trophy Reviewer - Number 1 ranked wine reviewer! Has submitted over 100 reviews! Speedster - Has completed 6 first reviews! Riesling Fanatic Pinot Gris Lover Merlot Maniac
A nice Chardonnay at the price. Clean on the palate. Not the heavy Oaked Chardonnay's I remember from the 90's. Maybe a little too average for me, but did remind me why I used to enjoy Chardonnay. Worth trying at this price.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(11/04/16)
By: Douglas Wilson This reviewer is using their real name.
My wife loved it!
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(29/04/16)
By: John Gaffikin-Cowan This reviewer is using their real name.
Excellent value, delightful drinking.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(12/12/10)
By: Victoria Greig This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left

(16/01/11)
By: James Jemson This reviewer is using their real name. Has submitted over 10 reviews!
No comments left

(22/01/11)
By: Paul Sanderson This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left

(05/03/11)
By: Peter Hancock This reviewer is using their real name. Has submitted over 10 reviews!
No comments left

(02/08/11)
By: Max Wolfgram This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left

(10/04/12)
By: Terry Wilson This reviewer is using their real name. Has submitted over 10 reviews! Pinot Noir Addict
No comments left

(22/05/12)
By: Brian Hart This reviewer is using their real name. Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 20 reviews!
No comments left

(22/08/12)
By: Sonja Takimoana This reviewer is using their real name. Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 20 reviews! Chardonnay Champ
No comments left

(05/07/14)
By: Peter Williams This reviewer is using their real name. Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 20 reviews!
No comments left

(12/05/15)
By: Gillian And Graeme Hunn This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left

(09/07/15)
By: Brian Reed This reviewer is using their real name. Has submitted over 20 reviews!
No comments left

(09/09/15)
By: Jim Stenhouse This reviewer is using their real name. Chardonnay Champ
No comments left

(16/12/15)
By: George And Jameson This reviewer is using their real name. Chardonnay Champ Sauvignon Blanc Star
No comments left

(28/02/16)
By: Bill Van Peer This reviewer is using their real name. Pinot Gris Lover
No comments left

(27/04/17)
By: Chantelle Rennes This reviewer is using their real name. Chardonnay Champ
No comments left

(07/11/17)
By: Colin Newel This reviewer is using their real name. Pinot Noir Addict
No comments left


Wine from NZ and around the world
The best place to buy wine online in New Zealand!
Thanks for stopping by our online wine shop. We have been running for more than ten years in New Zealand and have thousands of satisfied customers who subscribe to our emails and buy wine off us every week.

We love wine and we are passionate about every wine on this site. Our wines have been carefully selected by our buying team because they offer both outstanding quality and outrageous value for money. We hope you'll hang around a while, learn about us and try some of our wines. Have fun and drink great wine!


© Corporate Direct Wines 2008. All rights reserved.
Liquor Licence Holder: Corporate Direct Wines 2008 Ltd ~ License Number: 048/OFF/0011/17 ~ Expires: 18 May 2020