Wine   |  Daily Wine Deal Wednesday, 22nd of November 08:17 PM

I am over 18. Continue!

I am not over 18


Wine from New Zealand and around the world
The best place to buy wine online in NZ!
Thanks for stopping by our online wine shop. We have been running for more than ten years in New Zealand and have thousands of satisfied customers who subscribe to our emails and buy wine off us every week.

We love wine and we are passionate about every wine on this site. Our wines have been carefully selected by our buying team because they offer both outstanding quality and outrageous value for money. We hope you'll hang around a while, learn about us and try some of our wines. Have fun and drink great wine!
Free Call Us On 0508 WINESALE (0508 946 372) Mailing list       |      Wine blog       |      Help      
Free Call Us On 0508 946 372 Mailing list       |      Wine blog       |      Help      
Mailing list       |      Wine blog       |      Help      
0
Shopping Cart

0 items in cart
Proceed to Checkout
Register Login
Sign Up
to our mailing list and receive the best wine deals in NZ via email!
Sign Up
Free Delivery
For orders over 60 bottles to anywhere in mainland New Zealand!
Click here


Our price: $19.99
Our price was $22.99


Click here to view product information

Customer reviews for Don David (Argentina) Reserve Tannat

Average Customer Review
(21 Customer Reviews)

Return Trips (?) : Repeat purchased 284 times by 140 customers!
19 out of 21 customers rated this wine as good value for money.

Most Helpful First | Newest First | Most Positive First | Most Negative First

5 out of 6 people found these comments helpful
(25/01/11)
By: ChrisGold Medal Reviewer - Top 10 ranked wine reviewer! Has submitted over 20 reviews! Speedster - Has completed 6 first reviews!
When a wine is proclaimed the ‘best red wine in the world’ you’re obviously dealing with something at the serious end of the spectrum. Whilst I didn’t have the joy of sampling 6000+ wines to make my own conclusion, I thought this was a good value wine. Violet colour, bit fruity and tannin action at the end… some might suggest cellaring it for a few years to soften the tannins, but I’d crack at least one of them open now to avoid the suspense. I would recommend to others as a quality wine for friends to debate its ‘best red’ status.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

4 out of 5 people found these comments helpful
(02/02/11)
By: Bill Sutton This reviewer is using their real name. Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 20 reviews!
A lovely red wine and great value for money. I'm not familiar with Tannat as a grape varity or Don David as a vineyard, but I can see how this wine would appeal to a wide range of people who enjoy classic reds. Great color and palate weight, plenty of tannin for character and depth, but the fruit is not out-weighed. Perhaps it won the top award by appealing to the entire judging panel?
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

3 out of 4 people found these comments helpful
(18/02/11)
By: Linda Sorensen (Christchurch) This reviewer is using their real name. Gold Medal Reviewer - Top 10 ranked wine reviewer! Has submitted over 50 reviews! Speedster - Has completed 6 first reviews!
We opened this along with the Altimus (also from Michel Torino, also from Winesale). I've never had Tannat as a varietal, so this was totally new to me. However, the descriptions I found of it left me thinking it would be similar to Petite Sirah (Durif). The color was not disappointing - deep inky purple you couldn't read through. Plums and toasty almonds on the nose, nice ripe blackberries and plums on the taste. Long, lingering finish with some acid. The surprise is that the tannins were quite fine - just enough to give structure without being shocking. I can see the appeal of this very approachable wine; however, we found it quite simple and uninteresting when compared with the Altimus. Of course, the pricing reflects this as well... Overall enjoyable wine and worth checking out - we had it with steaks off the grill and it worked well.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

2 out of 3 people found these comments helpful
(29/01/11)
By: Rudi Verplancke This reviewer is using their real name.
Very nice wine, full strong body which in my opinion would only be complimented with a couple of years cellaring to polish off the occasional sharp edge of tannin. All and all a beautiful wine and great value for money
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

2 out of 3 people found these comments helpful
(07/02/11)
By: K8y (Lower Hutt) Gold Medal Reviewer - Top 10 ranked wine reviewer! Has submitted over 50 reviews! Speedster - Has completed 6 first reviews! Pinot Gris Lover Sauvignon Blanc Star
Firstly, can I say this is a really nice wine. Calling it the best red wine in the world is bound to end in disappointment though! I don't know what I expected from the "Best Red Wine in the World", but this is an inoffensive all-round red that didn't quite rock my world as much as I hoped. Don't get me wrong, it's a good wine and a fantastic price. Maybe needs a bit longer in the bottle. And a steak to go with. At this price, it is worth buying just for the discussion value of being the Best Red Wine in the World.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

2 out of 3 people found these comments helpful
(26/02/11)
By: Matilde Sepulveda This reviewer is using their real name.
This wine is great value for money! Argentinian reds are the stronguest assets in Argentina's wine production and is very well accepted by locals. This wine is smooth and robust with hints of mellow wooden flavours. It's very drinkable and its perfect to go with ''asado''(argentinian BBQ). The chargrilled flavours of a two inch steak accompanied by this wine will make you feel in the land of pampas straightaway! This wine makes a great corporate gift...you wont be dissapointted. Try other Michel Torino Estate wines, they are really good.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

2 out of 3 people found these comments helpful
(12/09/11)
By: Spade (Christchurch)
Michel Torino Don David Tannat Reserve 2008 An opaque purple-black with a brighter, narrow purple rim, and shiny. A sweetly floral nose, blackberry and faintly volatile with hints of sultana and tutti fruity. A concentrated palate with coal-dust, powdery tannins. A big, mouth-filling wine with blackberry bush and tarry notes, powerful but not closed, and a long finish showing refreshing blackberry acidity and coolness presumably due to its high-altitude origins. This acidity helped cut the weight and power of the wine, preventing it from becoming over-heavy, keeping the fruit from straying into the jammy spectrum and leaving the finish clean, with no alcoholic heat. Later the wine gained faint cedary notes from the oak. A delightful wine.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

1 out of 2 people found these comments helpful
(10/02/11)
By: DIONysusGold Medal Reviewer - Top 10 ranked wine reviewer! Has submitted over 50 reviews! Speedster - Has completed 6 first reviews! Cabernet Quaffer Chardonnay Champ Posh Wine Expert
Differen't and delicious. Well worth trying. Dark purple colours and fruit flavours and smells. I can see why this would get voted worlds best Red. Not the Worlds best Red in my books, but a VERY good all rounder which most people will enjoy. Nice smooth wine with long finish.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

1 out of 1 people found these comments helpful
(21/12/13)
By: John Gebler This reviewer is using their real name.
Great wine really enjoying it!!!
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

0 out of 1 people found these comments helpful
(12/02/11)
By: Descartes
First Tannat I have tried, and my expectations were up given its recent accolade of "World's Best Red Wine". Overall an interesting wine, but not a home run for me. I certainly wouldn't vote this the best red I have tried this year and I suspect judging panel was won over by the novelty factor this wine possesses (how many Tannats have you had versus, say Shiraz or Cabernet based wines?). Intense colour, solid tannins, but fruit a bit too subdued for my taste. Should get better with a few years of bottle age. Nonetheless, well worth a try and great conversation starter with family and friends.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

0 out of 1 people found these comments helpful
(05/03/11)
By: Barbie (North Shore)
I think the "Best red wine in the world" referred to the colour, which was warm deep and gorgeous. We shared a bottle with our neighbours and unfortunately it got the thumbs down all round. Maybe it will improve with a couple more years in the cellar.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

0 out of 1 people found these comments helpful
(18/01/12)
By: Harry Jewiss This reviewer is using their real name. Gold Medal Reviewer - Top 10 ranked wine reviewer! Has submitted over 50 reviews! Speedster - Has completed 6 first reviews! Sauvignon Blanc Star Shiraz Captain Pinot Noir Addict
I would rate this below the Hawkes Bay reds and well behind the Aussie Shiraz.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(23/02/12)
By: Mark Cook This reviewer is using their real name.
Not a bad drop
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(13/06/12)
By: Emilio Bertrand This reviewer is using their real name.
Best Tannat ever!!! Me and all my guests loved it
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(17/08/12)
By: Susan & TerryStar Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 10 reviews!
Mmmm. No wonder Winesale likes Argentinian wines if this is an example.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(17/02/16)
By: Marian Day This reviewer is using their real name.
Exceptionally good value, healthy too as tannat is good for the heart.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(20/03/11)
By: David Tripp This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left

(23/03/11)
By: Samantha Chapman This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left

(29/06/13)
By: Robert Gordon This reviewer is using their real name. Has submitted over 10 reviews!
No comments left

(05/07/14)
By: Peter Williams This reviewer is using their real name. Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 20 reviews!
No comments left

(24/12/15)
By: Colin Roberts This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left


Wine from NZ and around the world
The best place to buy wine online in New Zealand!
Thanks for stopping by our online wine shop. We have been running for more than ten years in New Zealand and have thousands of satisfied customers who subscribe to our emails and buy wine off us every week.

We love wine and we are passionate about every wine on this site. Our wines have been carefully selected by our buying team because they offer both outstanding quality and outrageous value for money. We hope you'll hang around a while, learn about us and try some of our wines. Have fun and drink great wine!


© Corporate Direct Wines 2008. All rights reserved.
Liquor Licence Holder: Corporate Direct Wines 2008 Ltd ~ License Number: 048/OFF/0011/17 ~ Expires: 18 May 2020