Wine   |  Daily Wine Deal Friday, 14th of December 12:55 AM

By law you must be over 18 to enter this site!

I am over 18. Continue!

I am not over 18


Wine from New Zealand and around the world
The best place to buy wine online in NZ!
Thanks for stopping by our online wine shop. We have been running for more than ten years in New Zealand and have thousands of satisfied customers who subscribe to our emails and buy wine off us every week.

We love wine and we are passionate about every wine on this site. Our wines have been carefully selected by our buying team because they offer both outstanding quality and outrageous value for money. We hope you'll hang around a while, learn about us and try some of our wines. Have fun and drink great wine!
Free Call Us On 0508 WINESALE (0508 946 372) Mailing list       |      Wine blog       |      Help      
Free Call Us On 0508 946 372 Mailing list       |      Wine blog       |      Help      
Mailing list       |      Wine blog       |      Help      
0
Shopping Cart

0 items in cart
Proceed to Checkout
Register Login
Sign Up
to our mailing list and receive the best wine deals in NZ via email!
Sign Up
Free Delivery
For orders over 60 bottles to anywhere in mainland New Zealand!
Click here


Our price: $13.99
Estimated retail price $19.99

Click here to view product information

Customer reviews for Michel Torino (Argentina) Malbec

Average Customer Review
(62 Customer Reviews)

Return Trips (?) : Repeat purchased 1392 times by 555 customers!
61 out of 62 customers rated this wine as good value for money.

Most Helpful First | Newest First | Most Positive First | Most Negative First

2 out of 2 people found these comments helpful
(17/08/11)
By: Brian SIMON This reviewer is using their real name.
A couple of years ago, in Mendoza, Argentina, I learned how beautiful a full bodied Malbec can be. Michel Torino ticks all the boxes for me. Goes great with rare roast beef/steak , and for me, almost anything else as well. Value for money, brilliant.
Permalink

2 out of 2 people found these comments helpful
(02/09/11)
By: Westie Wino (Waitakere) Gold Medal Reviewer - Top 10 ranked wine reviewer! Has submitted over 50 reviews! Speedster - Has completed 6 first reviews!
Hard to separate this and the Cuma organic Malbec from Michel Torino. I would personally go for the organic version but this is a very good value for money Malbec and worth buying as a drink now wine. We had this wine with chilli mussels, pepperoni and smoked salami as a pre dinner starter, yum.
Permalink

1 out of 1 people found these comments helpful
(22/08/11)
By: DIONysusGold Medal Reviewer - Top 10 ranked wine reviewer! Has submitted over 50 reviews! Speedster - Has completed 6 first reviews! Posh Wine Expert Chardonnay Champ Cabernet Quaffer
I really enjoyed this Malbec from this Estate. This top notch winery seems to do fine things with all it's grapes to me. Whilst this doesn't compare to say, the Altimus, it is a fine example of Malbec wine with dark colour, fruit flavours and a nice pepper finish. Eat it with any Red meats and you will enjoy. 85/100 IMHO
Permalink

1 out of 2 people found these comments helpful
(28/08/11)
By: Geoff (Waimakariri) Has submitted over 10 reviews!
Not overly impressed by this one. Drank it with a meal, oK but not exceptional.
Permalink

1 out of 1 people found these comments helpful
(08/09/11)
By: Daniel McCarthy This reviewer is using their real name.
Very nice Malbec. Soft fruit flavours throughout.
Permalink

1 out of 1 people found these comments helpful
(19/11/11)
By: Kirsten Souter This reviewer is using their real name.
delicious, very easy to drink.
Permalink

1 out of 1 people found these comments helpful
(22/11/11)
By: Ngaia Monahan This reviewer is using their real name.
Lovely smooth wine.
Permalink

1 out of 1 people found these comments helpful
(30/11/11)
By: Iain Haggarty This reviewer is using their real name.
Preferred this one to the Benjamin but both are excellent wines. Great alternative to the usual new world red wines!
Permalink

1 out of 1 people found these comments helpful
(02/12/11)
By: Rodger Alexander This reviewer is using their real name.
Michel Torino Malbec continues to provide really good wine with excellent value for the price. The nose and taste supports this wines depth and length.
Permalink

1 out of 1 people found these comments helpful
(02/12/11)
By: Peter Ball This reviewer is using their real name.
Have just opened my last bottle of 2007. And it's just come right! What was a little rough edged has now mellowed out and it's become a silky, earthy , berry fruity delight. While I feared the closures may have been borderline for keeping this length of time, I've been very pleasantly surprised. What a shame I'm going to have to wait another 4 years before the current vintage is going to be drinking at it's best! This bottle at this price rates 5 stars for me.
Permalink

1 out of 1 people found these comments helpful
(01/11/13)
By: TPANDAVHas submitted over 10 reviews!
Incredible value for money. Soft and spicy, with the characteristic inky Malbec colour. This is becoming one of our house wines as it enhances almost any food (not fish!).
Permalink

1 out of 1 people found these comments helpful
(26/11/13)
By: Joris Bolyn This reviewer is using their real name.
Great Value for money... I have been ordering & drinking this for three years now :)
Permalink

0 out of 1 people found these comments helpful
(20/11/11)
By: Richard Holdaway This reviewer is using their real name. Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 10 reviews!
I liked this a lot, good drinking.
Permalink

(02/12/11)
By: Nena (Auckland)
Perfect wine for dinner, strong bold flavor, perfect match for our Sunday lamb roast
Permalink

(18/01/12)
By: Sarah Richardson This reviewer is using their real name.
Yum! Soft, easy drinking before dinner. Took me back to warm evenings in northern Spain.
Permalink

(21/01/12)
By: Grant Casey This reviewer is using their real name. Has submitted over 10 reviews!
Awesome, smooth, fruity - love it this is my 4th case
Permalink

(25/01/12)
By: Eric Swinbourne This reviewer is using their real name.
Outstanding value purchased 3 times
Permalink

(10/03/12)
By: Kathryn Shaw This reviewer is using their real name.
Very Drinkable Wine
Permalink

(04/04/12)
By: Paul Robinson This reviewer is using their real name.
Damn if this didn't surprise me. Pleasantly. Not quite up to the Aussie stars, but pretty good for Evita country.
Permalink

(27/04/12)
By: Harry Jewiss This reviewer is using their real name. Gold Medal Reviewer - Top 10 ranked wine reviewer! Has submitted over 50 reviews! Speedster - Has completed 6 first reviews! Pinot Noir Addict Shiraz Captain Sauvignon Blanc Star
It smells like a rugby players sock hand has little after taste. This is a highly over rated wine.
Permalink

(23/05/12)
By: ADSGold Medal Reviewer - Top 10 ranked wine reviewer! Has submitted over 20 reviews! Speedster - Has completed 6 first reviews!
There's something about the Malbec grape that just speaks to me, and Michel Torino obviously speak the same language. They have bottled such depth and intensity here as to take your breath away. A fabulous wine and very good value buying. 4****
Permalink

(10/11/12)
By: straris
Really enjoyable Malbec. Excellent value for money.
Permalink

(18/06/13)
By: Clynt Church This reviewer is using their real name. Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 20 reviews! Shiraz Captain
Very good wine this.
Permalink

(24/08/13)
By: Paul Carew This reviewer is using their real name. Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 20 reviews! Pinot Gris Lover
I nfound this pretty average. Only tried it because Malbec is not common in NZ or Aus
Permalink

(28/02/14)
By: Dormouse
Rich full-bodied red , smooth and very drinkable!
Permalink

(29/03/14)
By: Colin Wiggins This reviewer is using their real name.
For those that haven't trid Malbec give this a go! Wonderful flavour. An easy to drink wine with or without food.
Permalink

(07/10/14)
By: Toby Farmer This reviewer is using their real name. Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 10 reviews! Shiraz Captain
This is a good malbec which friends and I have enjoyed and inspired a couple of repeat orders
Permalink

(16/10/14)
By: RobocopGold Medal Reviewer - Top 10 ranked wine reviewer! Has submitted over 50 reviews! Speedster - Has completed 6 first reviews! Pinot Noir Addict
A special wine from a great vineyard. Argentina Malbec cannot be beaten !! Loved it and will be back again for more
Permalink

(23/01/15)
By: Peter Williams This reviewer is using their real name. Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 20 reviews!
Easy to drink with a pleasant pallet
Permalink

(12/03/15)
By: Marian Day This reviewer is using their real name.
It's such good value and quality that I'm now buying another dozen.
Permalink

(16/12/15)
By: George And Jameson This reviewer is using their real name. Sauvignon Blanc Star Chardonnay Champ
Would not buy again.
Permalink

(18/02/16)
By: Evelyn Skinner This reviewer is using their real name.
I have tasted the Malbec at the house of a friend-delicious!
Permalink

(22/03/16)
By: Cliff Boyt This reviewer is using their real name. Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 10 reviews!
This 2015 Malbec shows great promise and good to see that they have adopted a screw cap, giving me confidence that storing it for a few years will be rewarding.
Permalink

(15/09/17)
By: Karen Tompson This reviewer is using their real name.
One of our favourite reds. Very smooth and easys drinking
Permalink

(06/03/18)
By: Angela Hollinger This reviewer is using their real name.
Lovely Malbec, will definitely order again.
Permalink

(29/03/18)
By: John Girling This reviewer is using their real name.
We found this very drinkable after about 30 minutes breathing time. Will certainly keep some as standby for almost any occasion.
Permalink

(28/05/18)
By: Mark Puddle This reviewer is using their real name.
Great balance and intensity, excellent value for money and will certainly be one of my return purchases.
Permalink

(02/12/11)
By: Richard Alexander This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left

(05/12/11)
By: Terry Keohane This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left

(07/12/11)
By: Ian Armstrong This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left

(01/02/12)
By: Jill Brown This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left

(11/02/12)
By: Cherie Butcher This reviewer is using their real name. Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 20 reviews! Cabernet Quaffer
No comments left

(07/03/12)
By: Sarah Lee This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left

(10/04/12)
By: Terry Wilson This reviewer is using their real name. Has submitted over 20 reviews! Pinot Noir Addict
No comments left

(10/04/12)
By: Melissa Brown This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left

(20/05/12)
By: Ross Thompson This reviewer is using their real name. Has submitted over 10 reviews!
No comments left

(22/05/12)
By: Brian Hart This reviewer is using their real name. Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 20 reviews!
No comments left

(28/05/12)
By: Patricia Colle This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left

(05/06/12)
By: Sonja Takimoana This reviewer is using their real name. Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 20 reviews! Chardonnay Champ
No comments left

(07/06/13)
By: Dianne Balemi This reviewer is using their real name. Has submitted over 10 reviews!
No comments left

(14/06/13)
By: Donna Botting This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left

(29/06/13)
By: Robert Gordon This reviewer is using their real name. Has submitted over 10 reviews!
No comments left

(15/08/13)
By: Leigh Foster This reviewer is using their real name. Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 20 reviews!
No comments left

(20/09/13)
By: Mike Cox This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left

(17/12/13)
By: Edgardo Beacon This reviewer is using their real name. Has submitted over 10 reviews!
No comments left

(25/10/14)
By: Hamish Read This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left

(13/11/14)
By: John Gibsone This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left

(15/12/14)
By: Paula Adams-Stace This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left

(10/04/15)
By: Jan Willis This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left

(07/03/18)
By: Bill Kingston This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left

(18/04/18)
By: Christine Yeung This reviewer is using their real name. Has submitted over 10 reviews!
No comments left

(13/06/18)
By: Jeremy Fitzsimons This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left


Wine from NZ and around the world
The best place to buy wine online in New Zealand!
Thanks for stopping by our online wine shop. We have been running for more than ten years in New Zealand and have thousands of satisfied customers who subscribe to our emails and buy wine off us every week.

We love wine and we are passionate about every wine on this site. Our wines have been carefully selected by our buying team because they offer both outstanding quality and outrageous value for money. We hope you'll hang around a while, learn about us and try some of our wines. Have fun and drink great wine!


© Corporate Direct Wines 2008. All rights reserved.
Liquor Licence Holder: Corporate Direct Wines 2008 Ltd ~ License Number: 048/OFF/0011/17 ~ Expires: 18 May 2020