Wine   |  Daily Wine Deal Friday, 24th of November 01:04 PM

I am over 18. Continue!

I am not over 18


Wine from New Zealand and around the world
The best place to buy wine online in NZ!
Thanks for stopping by our online wine shop. We have been running for more than ten years in New Zealand and have thousands of satisfied customers who subscribe to our emails and buy wine off us every week.

We love wine and we are passionate about every wine on this site. Our wines have been carefully selected by our buying team because they offer both outstanding quality and outrageous value for money. We hope you'll hang around a while, learn about us and try some of our wines. Have fun and drink great wine!
Free Call Us On 0508 WINESALE (0508 946 372) Mailing list       |      Wine blog       |      Help      
Free Call Us On 0508 946 372 Mailing list       |      Wine blog       |      Help      
Mailing list       |      Wine blog       |      Help      
0
Shopping Cart

0 items in cart
Proceed to Checkout
Register Login
Sign Up
to our mailing list and receive the best wine deals in NZ via email!
Sign Up
Free Delivery
For orders over 60 bottles to anywhere in mainland New Zealand!
Click here


Our price: $13.99
Estimated retail price $18.99

Click here to view product information

Customer reviews for Michel Torino (Argentina) Shiraz

Average Customer Review
(41 Customer Reviews)

Return Trips (?) : Repeat purchased 615 times by 283 customers!
40 out of 41 customers rated this wine as good value for money.

Most Helpful First | Newest First | Most Positive First | Most Negative First

1 out of 1 people found these comments helpful
(29/08/11)
By: Linda Sorensen (Christchurch) This reviewer is using their real name. Gold Medal Reviewer - Top 10 ranked wine reviewer! Has submitted over 50 reviews! Speedster - Has completed 6 first reviews!
"The palate has flavours of prunes, chocolate and pepper made in a juicy, warm style with supple rounded tannins and a long finish." PRUNES?? Well, yeah, actually. This wine is also just a bit on the smokey side. Good balance, nice structure, not overly fruit forward but fruity enough. I enjoyed it (we had it with pork roast) and would buy it again. Go ahead and drink it now, no need to cellar even though it is a very recent vintage.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

1 out of 1 people found these comments helpful
(02/09/11)
By: Westie Wino (Waitakere) Gold Medal Reviewer - Top 10 ranked wine reviewer! Has submitted over 50 reviews! Speedster - Has completed 6 first reviews!
This is becoming a go to wine for times when you need a red that will satisfy most occassions. Usual consistent quality that Michel Torino provides at a price that doen't break the bank. Often the wine we drink on a Friday night with lamb kebabs from our local, if I had to choose I would opt for the Malbec but for Shiraz lovers this is great value for money.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

1 out of 1 people found these comments helpful
(21/10/11)
By: Clare Nixon This reviewer is using their real name.
These Argentinians have a delightfully spicy temperament, and are surprisingly good value
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

1 out of 1 people found these comments helpful
(09/12/11)
By: Grant Casey This reviewer is using their real name. Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 10 reviews!
Reluctant to give good review - you other buggers might buy it all
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

1 out of 1 people found these comments helpful
(17/11/13)
By: RobocopGold Medal Reviewer - Top 10 ranked wine reviewer! Has submitted over 50 reviews! Speedster - Has completed 6 first reviews! Pinot Noir Addict
Great but not spectacular Argentinian Shiraz. Definitley worth trying and I will get more in for the summer BBQs Good value quaffer
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

1 out of 1 people found these comments helpful
(05/12/13)
By: Clare Jones This reviewer is using their real name. Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 20 reviews! Speedster - Has completed 6 first reviews!
This is great value. It is the 3rd wine by Michel Torino I have tried and by far my favourite. Lovely earthy blackberry nose. It reminds me of the dusty blackberry smell of late summer fruit picking. The palate is rich and rounded with more blackberry and velvety chocolate followed by a spicy liquorice finish. It's a pretty big wine and overpowered my mushroom ravioli and would better suit Lamb, duck or venison.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

1 out of 1 people found these comments helpful
(19/06/14)
By: James McAnally (Dunedin) This reviewer is using their real name. Trophy Reviewer - Number 1 ranked wine reviewer! Has submitted over 100 reviews! Speedster - Has completed 6 first reviews! Riesling Fanatic Pinot Gris Lover Merlot Maniac
A great shiraz. Pleasant on the palate. Intriguing. A definite pepper bite to this, but well balanced by the other flavours coming through. Went well by itself, but also accompanied a nice hearty meal. This, on a cold winters night, in front of a big fire, with good food and great company - AH BLISS. I would say at this price, a must have.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(15/08/11)
By: Win McDonald This reviewer is using their real name.
Great value for money, will buy again. Rich in flavour and a rich colour in the glass. Goes surprising well with Kapiti Kikorangi blue cheese!!
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(22/08/11)
By: DIONysusGold Medal Reviewer - Top 10 ranked wine reviewer! Has submitted over 50 reviews! Speedster - Has completed 6 first reviews! Cabernet Quaffer Chardonnay Champ Posh Wine Expert
Another fine example of how to make wine from Michel Torino. This Shiraz is full of flavours - Chocolate,blackberry, and coffe to name a few. A nice pepper finish and some smooth tannins come through. I drank this without food but I would match this with a roast or similar.83/100 IMHO
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(28/08/11)
By: Geoff (Waimakariri) Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 10 reviews!
Great colour and body but a surprising lack of bouquet? Great wine alone or with food. Ordering it again :-)
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(20/10/11)
By: Bex Pilley This reviewer is using their real name.
Nice juicy red for the price....
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(17/12/11)
By: Kerry Hawkins This reviewer is using their real name.
Very good value on all counts - especially if allowed to breathe a little first.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(10/02/12)
By: Captain PinStar Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 20 reviews! Pinot Gris Lover Shiraz Captain
Typical South American Shiraz. I probably would not purcase this wine again
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(16/07/12)
By: David Hill This reviewer is using their real name.
This really has been your own Manny Pacquiao for a few years, punches well above its weight. Maybe best value for money Shiraz around. Sorry can't tell if it tastes of old saddles, tobacco or even gauchos - just love it.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(12/02/14)
By: LindyShiraz Captain
Lovely dark coloured full bodied wine. Full of flavour. Would definitely buy again.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(20/09/14)
By: Brett Biddle This reviewer is using their real name.
A satisfying end of a cool day red and great value at its price.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(29/07/15)
By: Tak Tothill This reviewer is using their real name.
A rival to the Aussie Shiraz from this great Malbec region. Just loved it from first sip.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(08/10/15)
By: Sheila Lyndon This reviewer is using their real name. Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 20 reviews! Shiraz Captain
After reading the reviews I was unsure if I should buy it but glad I did as really enjoyed it.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(17/08/16)
By: NicknameStar Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 10 reviews!
can't go wrong with this one.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(17/10/16)
By: Mike Anda This reviewer is using their real name.
Took a little while to open up but worth the wait.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(11/11/16)
By: ADSGold Medal Reviewer - Top 10 ranked wine reviewer! Has submitted over 20 reviews! Speedster - Has completed 6 first reviews!
To my taste, bone dry, black, big and luscious. I serve this when I want to impress on OZ Shiraz drinkers that good wine does not have to be sweet. Slightly more expensive but worth every cent. Recommended. 4 1/2 stars
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(31/10/17)
By: Design Management Consultants This reviewer is using their real name.
Very good value Shiraz
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(08/09/11)
By: mikeymike
No comments left

(13/10/11)
By: djbtak
No comments left

(14/10/11)
By: Tim Balmer This reviewer is using their real name. Has submitted over 10 reviews!
No comments left

(09/12/11)
By: Paul Dickens This reviewer is using their real name. Has submitted over 10 reviews!
No comments left

(15/02/12)
By: TONY NELSON This reviewer is using their real name. Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 20 reviews!
No comments left

(10/03/12)
By: Alastair Gibbons This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left

(10/04/12)
By: Melissa Brown This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left

(23/05/12)
By: Miles Brown This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left

(05/06/12)
By: Sonja Takimoana This reviewer is using their real name. Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 20 reviews! Chardonnay Champ
No comments left

(18/06/12)
By: Martyn Wilson This reviewer is using their real name. Shiraz Captain
No comments left

(01/08/12)
By: Natalie Crane This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left

(08/08/12)
By: Neil Mathieson This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left

(23/08/12)
By: Norma Thorburn This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left

(11/09/12)
By: Karin Nesdale This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left

(15/08/13)
By: Leigh Foster This reviewer is using their real name. Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 20 reviews!
No comments left

(23/10/14)
By: Dianne Balemi This reviewer is using their real name. Has submitted over 10 reviews!
No comments left

(07/03/15)
By: Mark Payne This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left

(25/05/16)
By: Rashmin Soni This reviewer is using their real name. Has submitted over 10 reviews!
No comments left

(13/01/17)
By: Karin Marshall This reviewer is using their real name. Has submitted over 10 reviews!
No comments left


Wine from NZ and around the world
The best place to buy wine online in New Zealand!
Thanks for stopping by our online wine shop. We have been running for more than ten years in New Zealand and have thousands of satisfied customers who subscribe to our emails and buy wine off us every week.

We love wine and we are passionate about every wine on this site. Our wines have been carefully selected by our buying team because they offer both outstanding quality and outrageous value for money. We hope you'll hang around a while, learn about us and try some of our wines. Have fun and drink great wine!


© Corporate Direct Wines 2008. All rights reserved.
Liquor Licence Holder: Corporate Direct Wines 2008 Ltd ~ License Number: 048/OFF/0011/17 ~ Expires: 18 May 2020