Wine   |  Daily Wine Deal Wednesday, 13th of December 12:45 PM

I am over 18. Continue!

I am not over 18


Wine from New Zealand and around the world
The best place to buy wine online in NZ!
Thanks for stopping by our online wine shop. We have been running for more than ten years in New Zealand and have thousands of satisfied customers who subscribe to our emails and buy wine off us every week.

We love wine and we are passionate about every wine on this site. Our wines have been carefully selected by our buying team because they offer both outstanding quality and outrageous value for money. We hope you'll hang around a while, learn about us and try some of our wines. Have fun and drink great wine!
Free Call Us On 0508 WINESALE (0508 946 372) Mailing list       |      Wine blog       |      Help      
Free Call Us On 0508 946 372 Mailing list       |      Wine blog       |      Help      
Mailing list       |      Wine blog       |      Help      
0
Shopping Cart

0 items in cart
Proceed to Checkout
Register Login
Sign Up
to our mailing list and receive the best wine deals in NZ via email!
Sign Up
Free Delivery
For orders over 60 bottles to anywhere in mainland New Zealand!
Click here


Our price: $49.99
Estimated retail price $59.99

Click here to view product information

Customer reviews for Ciclos (Argentina) Malbec Merlot

Average Customer Review
(17 Customer Reviews)

Return Trips (?) : Repeat purchased 61 times by 33 customers!
17 out of 17 customers rated this wine as good value for money.

Most Helpful First | Newest First | Most Positive First | Most Negative First

6 out of 6 people found these comments helpful
(20/08/14)
By: DIONysusGold Medal Reviewer - Top 10 ranked wine reviewer! Has submitted over 50 reviews! Speedster - Has completed 6 first reviews! Cabernet Quaffer Chardonnay Champ Posh Wine Expert
WOW, WOW, WOW, and WOW!! This was a BIG surprise and I take back all the nasty things I've ever said about Malbec/Merlot. From the moment I saw the bottle of this I knew I was in for a big treat. If you like big gutsy reds which you can't see through in the glass and stick to your mouth well after you've drunk them, you HAVE to try this. When I poured this into a glass for the first time I got very excited and could tell I was gonna love this wine... Lot's of Tannins and dark fruit flavours. Best Merlot I have ever had. Did I mention WOW! NOTE: This was the 2008 Vintage - 96/100 IMHO
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

4 out of 4 people found these comments helpful
(29/11/10)
By: Barbara NogueraTeam Member - Team Member ratings do not count towards final rating This reviewer is using their real name.
As an Argentinean... I have to say this is one of my favourite wines! Coming from one of the Top 10 wineries in Argentina, this wine is just spectacular... and cheaper to get here than in Argentina! Unbelievable!
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

3 out of 3 people found these comments helpful
(14/02/11)
By: Nic Sur This reviewer is using their real name.
An astonishing wine ! I could see something special about it while pouring the first glass - the first wow ! what a colour ! After tasting it, I was left speechless ( I mean really strugling to find the adequate words to describe the feeling ). I found the words a bit later on, in Joelle Thompson and Sam Kim's notes, true down to the last letter. Highly Recommended !
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

3 out of 3 people found these comments helpful
(13/06/11)
By: Bill Sutton This reviewer is using their real name. Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 20 reviews!
Powerful dark fruits on the nose, deep purple color, perfectly blended flavors, silky smooth with a dash of treacle in the mouth, plenty of fine tannins but no harshness: this one ticks all the boxes for me. But is it worth the extra $10 a bottle? I compared it with two good $20+ NZ reds I recently drank, both of which in retrospect I would rate solid four stars. The answer, if you can afford it, is yes!! To put my money where my mouth is, I'm ordering two more bottles.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

2 out of 2 people found these comments helpful
(20/07/13)
By: martyb@wainui
This is a powerhouse wine for those who like some real flavour and "guts" in their red wine. It should handle a strong matching dish, eg, lamb shanks or a savoury beef curry. Proper room temperature and some breathing is recommended. Not for the faint-hearted!
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

2 out of 2 people found these comments helpful
(27/12/13)
By: Gary Clarkson This reviewer is using their real name. Gold Medal Reviewer - Top 10 ranked wine reviewer! Has submitted over 100 reviews! Speedster - Has completed 6 first reviews! Pinot Noir Addict
A great Malbec/Merlot,deep dark fruit colours with beautiful fine tannins.This wine is very smooth to drink and leaves a nice after taste in the mouth after you have drunk it.What a Great Great Wine well worth the extra cost will be buying more.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

2 out of 2 people found these comments helpful
(22/01/14)
By: James McAnally (Dunedin) This reviewer is using their real name. Trophy Reviewer - Number 1 ranked wine reviewer! Has submitted over 100 reviews! Speedster - Has completed 6 first reviews! Riesling Fanatic Pinot Gris Lover Merlot Maniac
Lovely drinking. Couldn't go wrong with this. Drinks well on its own,but also I would say enough guts to accompany almost anything you want to drink it with. A great wine to have in the cellar. However, again I must say at this price I can drink some pretty good wines that may make this look a little normal - but I would buy it again
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

2 out of 2 people found these comments helpful
(07/05/14)
By: Harry Jewiss This reviewer is using their real name. Gold Medal Reviewer - Top 10 ranked wine reviewer! Has submitted over 50 reviews! Speedster - Has completed 6 first reviews! Sauvignon Blanc Star Shiraz Captain Pinot Noir Addict
This wine was a surprise. First I took the cork and tried it. It was very earthy so I poured the wine through my aerater and wow it was magnificient ripe berry fruit tastes with a very strong back of the tongue support. Conclusion: Let this wine breath before drinking and it is every bit as marvelous as they claim.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

1 out of 1 people found these comments helpful
(05/02/14)
By: Action Hero (Wellington) Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 20 reviews! Speedster - Has completed 6 first reviews! Chardonnay Champ
"Don't cry for me Argentina" even when you first taste this magnificent Malbec blend, BIG, fruity, dense red colour, great after taste. I opened this one with a few mates around, they were drinking whites, two of us supped this one, then I quietly removed the bottle after my first taste just in case they decided to switch to red (life is too short to share your best reds with other than yourself !!!) Buy this one if it's still on sale, you won't be disappointed.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(17/12/10)
By: Kim Peters This reviewer is using their real name.
Great merlot- dark, deep and smooth.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(21/01/11)
By: Emilio Bertrand This reviewer is using their real name.
Grate wine!! Best value for money.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(08/12/13)
By: RobocopGold Medal Reviewer - Top 10 ranked wine reviewer! Has submitted over 50 reviews! Speedster - Has completed 6 first reviews! Pinot Noir Addict
Argentine Malbec is worth buying. Michel Torino makes great Malbec and is great value. Highly recomend and will buy again.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(15/01/14)
By: Keith May This reviewer is using their real name. Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 10 reviews! Pinot Noir Addict
Sensational! Soft and so smooth. Superb berries and just a delight to drink, anytime.
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(23/01/15)
By: Peter Williams This reviewer is using their real name. Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 20 reviews!
An interesting wine
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(25/03/15)
By: Karolina Stasiak This reviewer is using their real name. Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer!
Rich and deep Malbec Merlot. Though I am a Pinot drinker, this was a very tasty wine!
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(04/12/15)
By: Alan Taylor This reviewer is using their real name. Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 20 reviews!
Dark fruit flavours yet silky smooth. a special wine for special occasions
Permalink
Was this review helpful to you? yes no (Why vote?)

(11/12/13)
By: Terry Pullen This reviewer is using their real name. Star Reviewer - Top 50 wine reviewer! Has submitted over 20 reviews!
No comments left

(04/06/15)
By: Deen Hall This reviewer is using their real name.
No comments left


Wine from NZ and around the world
The best place to buy wine online in New Zealand!
Thanks for stopping by our online wine shop. We have been running for more than ten years in New Zealand and have thousands of satisfied customers who subscribe to our emails and buy wine off us every week.

We love wine and we are passionate about every wine on this site. Our wines have been carefully selected by our buying team because they offer both outstanding quality and outrageous value for money. We hope you'll hang around a while, learn about us and try some of our wines. Have fun and drink great wine!


© Corporate Direct Wines 2008. All rights reserved.
Liquor Licence Holder: Corporate Direct Wines 2008 Ltd ~ License Number: 048/OFF/0011/17 ~ Expires: 18 May 2020